Enrolling clients in service plans

  • Updated

 

In this article, you will learn how to subscribe your clients to service plans. 

Service Plans is a great tool for creating and managing recurring visits for general services or maintenance. With Service Plans, you can easily create service plan templates and subscribe your clients to those plans — not only allowing you to account for recurring work, but also ensure you are automatically getting paid on time.

In Workiz, you can enroll clients in a service plan using two different methods: from a service plan template or from a custom plan.

How to enroll clients in service plans

Group 4751options.png

  • After creating a service plan template, you can begin subscribing your clients to your plans. To learn more about creating a plan template, please see this article.

    1. Open the profile for the client you want to enroll
    2. Select Add service plan
      Group 4683-plans.png
    3. Select the property address and plan template
    4. Customize your plan template for this client:
      Group 4787plangroups.png
      1. Billing option: Choose how frequently you want to bill this client
      2. (Optional) Discount %: Modify the discount you want to apply to this service plan
      3. Member discount: Decide if you want to apply a member discount for all future line items on jobs, estimates, and invoices
      4. Planned dates

        Workiz allows you to create a retroactive start date of up to three months for service plans.

        Please be aware that using a retroactive start date may trigger immediate billing for all accumulated cycles based on the plan schedule. To learn more about how retroactive start dates affect the experience, please see this section.

      5. Renew automatically: Decide if you want this plan to automatically renew after expiring
      6. Attachments: Attach any files you want to include for this service plan (e.g., service terms, scope of work, before images, etc.)
      7. Collect payment: Choose how you want to collect payment:
        • Send payment request: Send your clients a link to the client portal to review and pay for their plan offer online using Workiz Pay
        • Enter payment manually: Accept the plan on behalf of your client and manually enter the payment
      8. Select Continue
  • Instead of creating a plan template, you also have the option of enrolling your clients in a standalone custom plan.

    Custom plans are not designed to be reused. If you would like to be able to save and use a plan for other clients, please create a plan template instead.

    To learn more about creating plan templates, please see this article.

    1. Open the profile for the client you want to enroll
    2. Select Add service plan Group 4683-plans.png
    3. Select the property address and choose Custom plan
    4. Create your custom plan:
      Group 4786plangroups.png
      1. Plan name
      2. (Optional) Plan description
      3. Service period: Choose how long this plan will last
      4. Renew automatically: Decide if you want this plan to automatically renew after expiring
      5. Visits within service period: Choose how many visits this client will get for this plan
      6. Job type: Choose the job type that should be tied to plan visits
      7. Planned dates

        Workiz allows you to create a retroactive start date of up to three months for service plans.

        Please be aware that using a retroactive start date may trigger immediate billing for all accumulated cycles based on the plan schedule. To learn more about how retroactive start dates affect the experience, please see this section.

      8. Plan price: Set the price, billing frequency, and (optional) discount you want to apply to this plan
      9. Taxable
      10. Member discount:Decide if you want to apply a member discount for this client
      11. Attachments: Attach any files you want to include for this service plan (e.g., service terms, scope of work, before images, etc.)
      12. Collect payment: Choose how you want to collect payment:
        • Send payment request: Send your clients a link to the client portal to review and pay for their plan offer online using Workiz Pay
        • Enter payment manually: Accept the plan on behalf of your client and manually enter the payment
      13. Select Continue

What your clients will see

Your clients will receive an email or text message that includes a link to the Workiz client portal. From there, they will be able to review, approve, and — if you chose to send the payment request online — pay for the service plan.

Group 4792plan-portal.png

Using retroactive start dates

As mentioned above, Workiz allows you to set a retroactive start date of up to three months when enrolling a client in a service plan. 

Using a retroactive start date may trigger automatic billing for all accumulated cycles based on your plan schedule. For example, if your plan is set to bill monthly, and your start date is set to three months prior to the current date, your client may automatically be billed for the first three months of the plan. 

If you choose to enter payment manually, you will be prompted to make the initial payment upon enrollment. All remaining payments will need to be made manually. 

If you choose to send a payment request using the client portal, your client will be prompted to make the initial payment using a credit card. But because that credit card is saved on file to make automatic payments for all remaining billing cycles, your client may immediately be charged for all of the due payments

To avoid a potential dispute, it's important to set clear expectations for your client when setting a retroactive start date.

Managing your client’s service plans subscriptions

After subscribing your client to a service plan, that client will automatically receive a badge next to their name so that you can easily keep track of which clients are subscribed to plans. This badges will appear on various pages throughout the platform.

Group 4533sps1.png

Scrolling down from the Client info tab, you’ll see a summary of all the plans this client has ever been subscribed to. Here, you can re-send the plan details to your client or cancel the plan altogether.

2023-09-18_15-33-20 1sps1.png

Your client’s profile page will also now include a tab for Visits, giving you quick access to the past and future visits linked to this client. You will also have access to quick actions such as:

  • Calling the client
  • Messaging the client
  • Converting the visit into a job

image 521.png

Managing all of your business’s service plan subscriptions

Workiz makes it easy to manage all of your business’s service plan subscriptions — providing you with information such as the plan price, start date, next visit date, and the team member who sold the plan.

To learn more about how to manage your service plans, please see this article.

image 517.png

Was this article helpful?