In this article, you will learn how to add inventory items to your jobs and invoices.

Workiz’s inventory management lets you see your stock levels and inventory usage from anywhere using any device. Every usage, stock change, or return is logged and easily tracked.

Workiz allows you to have stock levels organized by containers so that you know exactly how much stock (as well as the cost and sale value of that stock) exists in a particular container.

Once you have created inventory items, containers, and assigned user containers, you can begin adding inventory items to jobs and invoices. To learn more about these topics, please see the related articles below:

Adding inventory items to a job and invoice

  1. Open a job page and select the Items tab

  2. Select Add Item

  3. Choose an item that features a box icon before the item name


    Tip: When adding items to jobs and invoices, inventory items will feature a box icon before the item name. You will also see your stock level in parentheses at the end of the item name.


  4. Adjust the quantity as desired

  5. Select the container dropdown menu and choose a container as desired


    Tip: You can assign and restrict users to specific containers. To learn more about assigning user containers, please see this article.


  6. Select Save

  7. Repeat Steps 2-6 as desired until you’ve added all of the items you want to include for this job

  8. (Optional) Select Create Invoice

When adding inventory items to a job, the listed item will feature a gray box icon before the item name on the Items tab. This indicates that the unit is synced with your inventory (i.e., the item is being taken from your inventory and added to a job).

If you decide to cancel a job by updating the job status, the box icon will change from gray to red. This indicates that the unit is NOT synced with your inventory (i.e., the item is no longer being taken from your inventory).


Note: If you add inventory items directly to an invoice, deleting the invoice will also automatically place those units back into your inventory.


If you decide to restore a job that was previously canceled by updating the job status, you will be prompted to sync those job items with your inventory.

After you sync the job items with your inventory, the icons will change from red to gray.

Syncing estimate items to your inventory

Because estimates are only designed to provide your client with a detailed preview of what a job may cost, adding inventory items directly to an estimate will not result in any changes to your actual inventory.

However, if your client approves an estimate and you convert that estimate into a job, you can sync that estimate to a job and ultimately sync the job items to your actual inventory.

To learn more about how to sync estimate items to your inventory, please see this article.

Reviewing inventory stock changes

All changes you make to your inventory will be visible from the Inventory page.

  1. From the Inventory page, select Usage

  2. Select one of the following tabs to review changes made to your inventory:

    1. Inventory usage: A list detailing inventory items that were used in jobs and invoices

    2. Returns: A list detailing inventory items that were manually removed from your inventory without being used in Workiz jobs or invoices

    3. Action log: A list detailing inventory items that were used, returned, created, edited, or moved to a different container

Need more help? See related articles below:

Did this answer your question?