Removing items, groups, and categories from your price book

  • Updated

In this article, you will learn how to remove items, item groups, and item categories from your price book.

Your price book may be made up of various items, item groups, and item categories. New items, item groups (and flat rates), and item categories can be added in just a few steps. They can also be removed from your price book to ensure your team always has access to an up-to-date catalog. 

Removing items

Removing an item from your price book can be done in one of two ways:

  • Disabling the item: Removing the item from your price book altogether
  • Hiding the item: Removing visibility of the individual item in your price book, while allowing it to appear in related item groups

Disabling items

To maintain the integrity of your historical data, items in Workiz cannot be permanently deleted. Instead, you can remove items from your price book by disabling them, preventing your team members from seeing these items in the future.

  1. From the sidebar navigation menu, select Price book
  2. Check the boxes for all of the items you want to disable
  3. From the bulk actions menu, select Update item status Disable
    Group 632591.png
  4. Select Yes, disable

    Please be aware that disabling an inventory-managed item will also permanently delete all related inventory levels. Reenabling these items will not restore inventory levels. 

Disabled items will not be permanently deleted. You can reenable one of these items by filtering by disabled items from your price book settings page. 
Group 632590.png

Hiding items

If an item exists as part of an item group, you may instead choose to hide the individual item. This way, the item remains accessible within the group but is not available as a standalone item.

  1. From the sidebar navigation menu, select Price book
  2. Select the item you want to hide
  3. Turn the toggle switch off for Show item on price book
    Group 632592.png
  4. Select Save
  5. Repeat Steps 2-4 for all of the remaining items you want to hide 

These items will no longer be visible in your price book. To make them visible again, open the item and turn the toggle switch back on. 

Removing item groups

Since item group usage is reported at the item level in your Items and Services report, item groups may be permanently deleted from your Workiz account. Deleting item groups will not remove the historical usage of the individual items.

  1. From the sidebar navigation menu, select Price book
  2. Select the Item groups tab
  3. Under Actions, select the trash can icon for the item group you want to delete
    Group 632599.png
  4. Select Confirm

This item group will be permanently deleted and no longer available in your price book.

Removing item categories

Like item groups, item categories may also be permanently deleted from your Workiz account. 

  1. From the sidebar navigation menu, select Price book
  2. Select the Item categories tab
  3. Under Actions, select the trash can icon for the item category you want to delete
    Group 632598.png

    Having trouble deleting an item category? You may need to remove all items and sub-categories from this category first.  

Was this article helpful?