Tracking your team's location in Workiz

  • Updated

In this article, you will learn how to track your team’s location to enable your dispatchers to assign jobs more efficiently.

Tracking your team’s location will allow your dispatch team to quickly identify the field tech who can get to an on-demand job the fastest. Instead of contacting each individual tech to find out where they are, your dispatch team can simply access the Map page in Workiz to see exactly where your techs are in the event of an on-demand job. Workiz also labels each tech with an availability designation so your dispatch team can also see who’s not only nearby, but also available.

In order to track your team’s location, you must first enable it for each field tech on your team. This is typically completed when adding new users to your Workiz team, but can also be done after the user has already been created.

Enabling the Map/GPS Tracking add-on

  1. From the navigation bar, select the Marketplace

    Not seeing the Marketplace icon in the navigation bar? You may not have the correct permissions set for your user.

    Please contact your account admin and ask them to turn on the Account Settings permission for your user type from the Roles & Permissions settings page.

  2. Under Add-ons, select Map/GPS Tracking

  3. Turn the toggle switch on/off to enable/disable the add-on

Enabling location tracking for a user

Location tracking is only available for paid users. You will not be able to enable location tracking for subcontractors.

  1. Open the profile of the team member you want to enable tracking for
  2. Select the field tech that you want to enable location tracking for
  3. Under User Options, ensure Track user location is enabled
    Group 4490.png

Allowing location tracking on a user’s mobile device

Allowing location tracking on the Workiz app

Once you have turned on location tracking for a specific user, that user will also be required to enable the feature from the Workiz app on their mobile device.

  1. From the mobile app, select the bars icon () > Settings
  2. Check the box for Location Tracking
    Group 4479.png

Allowing location tracking on the mobile device’s internal settings

After enabling location tracking from the mobile app, the user will also need to enable this feature from their mobile device’s internal settings.

Workiz asks for permission to track a user’s location during the initial setup stage shortly after downloading the mobile app on their device. When prompted to allow location access on their device, users must select Always track (or similar).

To adjust those settings after the initial setup stage, please select the relevant mobile operating system:

Despite permitting the app to always track, Workiz will only track a user’s location while the app is open on the device. This means location will be tracked while the app is actively being used in the foreground, or still open in the background. For example, if a user opens the app and then leaves the app without closing it completely, Workiz will continue to track the user’s location. But if the app is closed, Workiz will no longer track the user’s location.

Using location tracking in Workiz

After setting up location tracking for your team, you can access their location from the Map page in Workiz.

  1. From the sidebar navigation, select Map
  2. Select the Techs tab
  3. Review the list of techs to determine who is closest to the on-demand job

    You can also filter by techs with availability. Selecting the user will also give you a timestamp of when their location was most recently updated.

Was this article helpful?