In this article, you will learn how to assign user locations in your Workiz inventory.

Workiz’s inventory management lets you see your stock levels and inventory usage from anywhere using any device. Every usage, stock change, or return is logged and easily tracked.

Workiz allows you to have stock levels organized by locations so that you know exactly how much stock (as well as the cost and sale value of that stock) exists in a particular location. You can create specific locations unique to your business. For example, a location could be a warehouse, office, vehicle, or any other place you may store inventory items.

You can also assign your team members to specific locations to simplify their workflow while out on the field. Assigning user locations will also provide you with an accurate picture of the stock levels for the locations that your team members are actually using.

Assigning a user to a location

  1. From the sidebar navigation, select Inventory

  2. Select User locations

  3. Next to the user you want to assign a location to, complete the following:

    1. Select All and choose a location


      Tip: To learn more about creating locations, please see this article.


    2. Decide if you want to restrict this user to their assigned location and turn the toggle switch to YES or NO as desired


      Note: Adding a restriction will ensure that this user will only see their assigned location when adding inventory items to a job or invoice.

      Without adding a restriction, this user's assigned location will only serve as a default suggestion when adding inventory items to a job or invoice. This user will still be able to choose a different location as desired.

      To learn more about how restrictions work, please see the following section.


What users will see when adding inventory items to a job or invoice

When a user adds an inventory item to a job or invoice, the item page will now feature a dropdown menu listing all of their available locations.

When they DO NOT have an assigned location or restrictions, this user will be prompted to select a location and choose any of the locations on your Workiz account.

When they have an assigned location WITHOUT restrictions, this user will automatically be prompted to take the inventory item from their assigned location, but they will also have the option to choose a different location.

When they have an assigned location WITH restrictions, this user will automatically be prompted to take the inventory from their assigned location. They will NOT have the option to choose a different location.

Need more help? See related articles below:

Did this answer your question?