In this article, you will learn how to limit a specific user to only see jobs assigned to them.

Workiz has been designed with service businesses in mind. We understand that not everybody on your team needs as much access to the system as your administrators, and that not every field tech needs visibility of jobs assigned to other team members.

After signing up with Workiz, your account will automatically come equipped with four different roles you can assign to your team members: Admin, Manager, Dispatcher, and Tech.

By default, the Tech role will already be restricted from seeing jobs assigned to other users. The simplest way to restrict a user from seeing jobs assigned to other users is to assign that user to the role of Tech.

But if you have a unique role with specific requirements, Workiz also allows you to create new roles from scratch, as well as update existing roles with the permissions that suit your business’s needs.

How to restrict a user to assigned jobs

  1. From the navigation bar, select Settings > Settings

  2. Under Users & Roles, select Roles Management

  3. Choose the role you want to restrict job visibility for


    Tip: You can also create a new role from scratch. To learn more about creating a new role, please see this article.


  4. From the Actions tab, find Other users’ jobs and ensure the toggle switch is OFF


    Note: A capability is being restricted when the toggle switch is OFF (gray).


  5. Select Save

How to update a user’s role

After updating the restrictions associated with a specific role, you will need to assign that role to a user on your team to enforce the restriction.

  1. From the sidebar navigation, select Team

  2. Select the user whose role you want to update

  3. Under User Details, select User role and choose the role that you just updated

The user you assign to this role will now only see the following:

  • Jobs assigned to them

  • Messages sent to them

Need more help? See related articles below:

Did this answer your question?