In this article, you will learn about the differences between paid users and free subcontractors in Workiz.

In order for your business to grow, you will likely be required to take a hands-off approach for many of the jobs your business handles. You’ll likely assign jobs to people who are considered employees for your business, as well as service professionals who are simply hired on a per-job basis.

Workiz lets you seamlessly manage both types of workers.

When creating a new user, you will be prompted to select between a paid user and a free subcontractor. Here, we will cover some of the main differences.

Users (paid)

Depending on your subscription, your Workiz plan will come equipped with a certain number of users who require access to your account. These are known as paid users.

While a paid user can be assigned one of many roles (e.g., dispatcher, manager, field tech, etc.) with unique privileges, they will generally be able to:

  • Log in to your account (using their own login credentials)

  • Create invoices

  • Collect signatures

  • Request payments from customers

All of these permissions can be managed from the Settings menu. To learn more about team roles and restrictions, please see this article.

Because these are paid users, this type of user is typically reserved for workers who are considered employees for your company.

Subcontractors (free)

Not everyone who performs jobs for your business is an employee. Occasionally, you may do business with service professionals on a per-job basis because of specialty skills they have or areas they serve.

These are known as subcontractors. In Workiz, a user assigned as a subcontractor is free.

Because you do not have to pay for subcontractors on a per-user basis, the role is fairly limited. A free subcontractor can only be assigned to jobs and receive SMS notifications, but will not be able to log in to your Workiz account.

In Workiz, the ability to add subcontractors to your account is enabled as an add-on.

Enabling subcontractors add-on

  1. From the navigation bar, select the Marketplace

  2. Under Add-ons, find Subcontractors and select Learn more

  3. Turn the toggle switch above Feature not active ON (green)

Once enabled, the user creation process will include the option to choose between a paid user and a free subcontractor.

Need more help? See related articles below:

Did this answer your question?